Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee
ACTION Party 2010 a sold-out success

On Thursday, March 11, CJPAC hosted our fourth annual ACTION Party in Toronto. The sold-out event brought together more than 750 young professionals and dozens of politicians from across the political spectrum and all levels of government to celebrate political engagement and support Israel. Taking place this year at Canada’s National Ballet School, the space was decorated to welcome spring with luxurious lounge areas over the two floors. Guests stayed into the late hours of the night dancing, listening to live jazz music, watching ballerina performances and sipping on politically-named cocktails as they schmoozed.

“ACTION engages young Canadians, giving them an opportunity to take an interest in Canadian politics,” says Leah Carr, one of four co-chairs of the ACTION party. “It encourages them to get involved politically and make an impact on issues of concern for the community.” The other three co-chairs for the event were Emily Burnett, Noah Godfrey and Jay Klein.

Pictures of the event are posted here and here.

Special guests in attendance included:

Consul General Amir Gissin

Ministers & Party Leaders

Hon. Dalton McGuinty, Premier of Ontario

Hon. John Baird, Minister of Transportation, Infrastructure & Communities, MP

Hon. Chris Bentley, Attorney General of Ontario , MPP

Hon. Peter Fonseca, Minister of Labour, MPP

Hon. Eric Hoskins, Minister of Citizenship & Immigration, MPP

Tim Hudak, MPP, Leader of the Opposition

Federal Elected Officials

Patrick Brown, MP

Olivia Chow, MP

Hon. Ken Dryden, MP

Rob Oliphant, MP

Jeff Watson, MP

Provincial Elected Officials

Mike Colle, MPP

Randy Hillier, MPP

Monte Kwinter, MPP

Norm Miller, MPP

Peter Shurman, MPP

David Zimmer, MPP

Municipal Elected Officials

Councillor David Cohen, Richmond Hill

Councillor Rob Ford, Toronto

Councillor Adam Giambrone , Toronto

Trustee Josh Matlow, TDSB

Candidates for Office

John Carmichael

Ken Chan

Gila Martow

Karen Mock

Joe Oliver

Rocco Rossi

George Smitherman

Sarah Thomson

Chris Tindal

Simon Wookey

CJPAC thanks our sponsors, ACTION committee, special guests, and everyone who attended for making the event a tremendous success!