Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee
Canada Congratulates Estonia, Israel and Slovenia on Invitation to Join OECD

The Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs, today issued the following statement regarding the decision of the Organisation for Economic Co‑operation and Development (OECD) to invite Estonia, Israel and Slovenia to become members:

“On May 10, Canada joined other OECD members in inviting Estonia, Israel and Slovenia to become the organization’s next members.

“Canada congratulates Estonia, Israel and Slovenia on their achievement. We have been a supporter of the accession of these countries since the launch of membership talks in 2007.

“We applaud the years of effort undertaken domestically by each of these countries to implement policy changes to meet the standards and practices of the OECD.

“This is a significant moment for the OECD, as the organization continues to broaden its membership to ensure that it is more representative and inclusive.

“Canada looks forward to a long and productive collaboration with the most recent member countries.”

– 30 –