Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee
Fifth Annual Montreal ACTION Party Sells Out With Record Attendance

MONTREAL – One thousand young professionals from the Jewish and pro-Israel community spent last night meeting and mingling with community leaders and more than two dozen elected officials at CJPAC’s annual Montreal ACTION Party.

“It’s exciting to watch so many people from different backgrounds come together to celebrate political engagement in our community”, said Monique Assouline, ACTION Party Co-Chair. “Bringing the Jewish and pro-Israel community together with elected officials for a party with food, music and drinks is a convincing way to showcase how political involvement can be enjoyable and easy.”

Now in its fifth year, the party sold out for the first time, welcoming Montreal residents as well as two busloads of attendees from Ottawa. It is clear that the ACTION Party has become a cornerstone of CJPAC’s work in Montreal, helping to define the organization.

“CJPAC’s work in Quebec and around the country focuses on Jewish and pro-Israel political engagement, especially among young people,” said Mark Waldman, CJPAC’s Executive Director. “As both our community and its needs grow, so too has CJPAC. We have opened a new BC Region office and brought on additional staff in Montreal to encourage community members to participate in the democratic process.”

Founded 8 years ago, CJPAC is a unique national, grassroots, independent organization. With an office in Montreal, led by Quebec Regional Director, Cheryl Stein, CJPAC hosts multiple events throughout the year to help activate Jewish and pro-Israel Quebecers in the political process.

To learn more visit

Officials in attendance (in alphabetical order):
Justin Trudeau, MP, Leader of the Liberal Party of Canada
Hon. Maxime Bernier, Minister of State (Small Business and Tourism)
Jean-Francois Lisée, Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade and Minister responsible for the Montréal region.
Senator Dennis Dawson
Senator Judith Seidman
Senator Larry Smith
Malcolm Allen, MP
Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe, MP
Françoise Boivin, MP
Rob Clarke, MP
Hon. Denis Coderre, MP
Raymond Côte, MP
Bob Dechert, MP
Paul Dewar, MP
Pierre-Luc Dusseault, MP
Marc Garneau, MP
Hoang Mai, MP
Élaine Michaud, MP
Isabelle Morin, MP
Pierre Nantel, MP
Jamie Nicholls, MP
Murray Rankin, MP
Philip Toone, MP
Philippe Couillard, Leader of the Quebec Liberal Party
Dominic Cardy, Leader of the NDP of New Brunswick
Adrien Pouliot, Leader of the Quebec Conservative Party
Pierre Arcand, MNA
Lawrence Bergman, MNA
Gerry Sklavounos, MNA
Christine St-Pierre, MNA
Mathieu Traversy, MNA
Kathleen Weil, MNA
Michael Applebaum, Mayor of Montreal
Anthony Housefather, Mayor of Côte-Saint-Luc
Lionel Perez, Mayor of Côte-des-Neiges
Mitchell Brownstein, Councillor
Herbert Brownstein, Councillor
Maurice Cohen, Councillor
Steven Erdelyi, Councillor
Bonnie Feigenbaum, Councillor
Michael Goldwax, Councillor
Mickey Max Guttman, Councillor
Peter McQueen, Councillor
Marvin Rotrand, Councillor
Dida Berku, Councillor
Glenn Nashen, Councillor