Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee
Montreal ACTION Party 2010
On May 6, 2010, CJPAC held its second annual Montreal ACTION Party – and it exceeded all expectations. The event brought together over 350 young professionals and politicians from across the political spectrum and from every level of government to celebrate support for Israel and to foster political engagement in our community. The event took place in an elegant 47th floor penthouse, with a spectacular view of the Montreal skyline. While attendees were 47 stories up, they were in the centre of the action as the Montreal Canadiens played the Pittsburgh Penguins in game four of their Stanley Cup series on big screen TVs around the room. The doors opened early to show the game, and guests were treated to fantastic food and drinks.
After a stunning Montreal victory, the party kicked into high gear. New connections were forged between community members and politicians. We were especially honoured by the variety and enthusiasm of our political attendees, with many of them staying well into the night, and others joining us despite flight delays and other obstacles.
“The amazing turn out, both from politicians and from community members, proves that the ACTION Party is an effective way to get people involved in the political process. We know that relationships matter, and the ACTION Party is a crucial part of building those relationships” said Brian Kujavsky, one of this year’s Chairs. The other chairs were Gillian Eliahoo, Howard Fremeth, and Avi Krispine.
Pictures of the event are posted here and here.
Special guests in attendance included:
Ministers and Party Leaders
Hon. John  Baird, MP, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities
Hon. Diane Finley, MP, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development
Hon. Jason Kenney, MP, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism
Hon. Jack Layton, MP, Leader of the New Democratic Party
Gerard Deltell, MNA, Leader of the Action démocratique du Québec
Federal Elected Officials
Mr. Patrick Brown, MP
Hon. Stephane Dion, MP
Senator Francis Fox
Dr. Marc Garneau, MP
Mr. Michel Guimond, MP
Senator Pana Merchant
Mr. Thomas Mulcair, MP
Mr. Pierre Poilievre, MP
Mr. Brent Rathgeber, MP
Provincial Elected Officials
Mr. Pascal Bérubé, MNA
Mr. Mathieu Traversy, MNA
Municipal Elected Officials
Mayor Michael Applebaum
Mayor Anthony Housefather
Councillor Mitchell Brownstein
Councillor Bonnie Feigenbaum
Councillor Helen Fotopulos
Councillor Michael Goldwax
Councillor Glenn Nashen
Councillor Lionel Perez
Candidates for Office
Mr. Rodolphe Husny
Mr. Christian Lévesque
Ms. Linda Schwey
CJPAC thanks our sponsors, ACTION chairs and committee, special guests, and everyone who attended for making the event a tremendous success!