Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee
Record political turnout for annual CJPAC event

TORONTO – Last Thursday over 50 elected officials, including some of Canada’s highest office holders, joined over 1200 Jewish and pro-Israel young professionals for CJPAC’s annual ACTION Party, a one-of-a-kind celebration of political engagement.

“It was moving to see the keen response from all our guests, whether elected officials or community members. This was truly a celebration of how much our community values political involvement and Canada’s strong democratic system,” said Daniel Resnick, one of this year’s ACTION Party Co-Chairs.

Now in its 7th year, the party took place at the newly renovated Arcadian Court, in the heart of Toronto. The record attendance of elected officials speaks to CJPAC’s growing presence, after a year of expansions, including a new office in Vancouver and extended operations in Atlantic Canada.

“What a turnout! It’s so humbling to see how far CJPAC has come. In eight short years, CJPAC has fostered a collective awareness of the importance of building strong, personal, grassroots relationships between members of our community and our elected representatives across the political spectrum,” said Mark Waldman, CJPAC’s Executive Director. “This party is just one piece of that puzzle.”

CJPAC is a unique national, grassroots, independent organization. Its mandate is to activate the Jewish and pro-Israel community in the political process in order to advance relationships with members of the Canadian political community and foster Jewish and pro-Israel political leadership. CJPAC mobilizes grassroots across the country, builds relationships with elected officials – of all political parties – and works for Jewish community interests, on a multi-partisan basis, during and between elections.

This year’s attendees included:

Federal (in alphabetical order):

Mark Adler, MP

Hon. Carolyn Bennett, P.C., MP

James Bezan, MP

Hon. Scott Brison, P.C., MP

Patrick Brown, MP

Brad Butt, MP

John Carmichael, MP

Olivia Chow, MP

Kirsty Duncan, MP

Hon. Diane Finley, P.C., MP, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development

Marc Garneau, MP

Hon. Peter Kent, P.C., MP, Minister of the Environment

James Lunney, MP

Hon. John McCallum, P.C., MP

Peggy Nash, MP

Hon. Joe Oliver, P.C., MP, Minister of Natural Resources

Ted Opitz, MP

Justin Trudeau, MP

Terence Young, MP


Provincial (in alphabetical order):

Toby Barrett, MPP

Mike Colle, MPP

Hon. Michael Coteau, Minister of Citizenship & Immigration

Cheri DiNovo, MPP

Christine Elliott, MPP

Michael Harris, MPP

Tim Hudak, MPP and Leader of the Official Opposition

Frank Klees, MPP

Rob Leone, MPP

Jim McDonell, MPP

Rob Milligan, MPP

Hon. Reza Moridi, Minister of Research and Innovation

Julia Munro, MPP

Hon. Yasir Naqvi, Minister of Labour

Rick Nicholls, MPP

Hon. Liz Sandals, Minister of Education

Peter Shurman, MPP

Todd Smith, MPP

Bill Walker, MPP

Paul Miller, MPP

Hon. Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario

Hon. David Zimmer, Minister of Aboriginal Affairs


Municipal (in alphabetical order):

Greg Beros, Councillor (City of Richmond Hill)

Colin Campbell, Councillor (City of Markham)

Shelley Carroll, Councillor (City of Toronto)

His Worship Rob Ford, Mayor (City of Toronto)

Logan Kanapathi, Councillor (City of Markham)

Josh Matlow, Councillor (City of Toronto)

Denzil Minnan Wong, Councillor (City of Toronto)

Carmine Perrelli, Councillor (City of Richmond Hill)

Deb Schulte, Councillor (Vaughn Region)

Alan Shefman, Councillor (City of Vaughn)

Howard Shore, Councillor (City of Toronto)



DJ Schneeweiss, Consul General of Israel