Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee
Montreal: Young Professionals and Political Leaders united for ACTION

Young Professionals and Political Leaders united for ACTION

MONTREAL– On May 12, political leaders including Premier Jean Charest, Minister John Baird, and Deputy Opposition Leader Thomas Mulcair joined hundreds of Jewish Young Professionals at the 3rd annual Montreal ACTION Party.  Organized by the Canadian Jewish Political Affairs Committee (CJPAC), attendees had a unique opportunity to engage with dozens of politicians from every level of government and across the political spectrum.

“When our guests interact with politicians in an exciting and comfortable environment they understand that politics can be accessible and that they can have a real impact.” said Jonathan Abecassis, one of this year’s co-chairs. “For many of the attendees, the authentic nature of their experience at ACTION helped them see that getting politically engaged is critical for our community.”

This year’s party was held at the Complexe Dompark – a renovated textile factory – and attracted guests from as far away as Ottawa and Toronto.  Entertainment included a surprise acrobatic show to complement the varied music which kept the room energized. Even exhaustion from the recent federal election couldn’t keep politicians away, with many joining over the course of the evening as the party went late into the night.

“CJPAC is honoured to be able to play this vital role for our community. If we want our communities’ voice to be heard on the issues that are close to our hearts, each of us needs to build relationships and get involved in the political process,” said Mark Waldman, Executive Director of CJPAC. “It was a thrill to see the next generation of Jewish leadership stepping up and leading our community on the political scene.”

Photos from the night can be viewed on CJPAC’s facebook page (

CJPAC would like to thank the following elected officials, for joining us (in order of precedence, as prescribed by protocol):


Hon. John Baird, Minister

Hon Christian Paradis, Minister

Hon. Irwin Cotler, MP

Franҫoise Boivin, MP

Bob Dechert, MP

Rick Dykstra, MP

Marc Garneau, MP

Thomas Mulcair, MP

Glenn Thibeault, MP

Justin Trudeau, MP



Hon. Jean Charest, Premier

Gérard Deltell,  Party Leader

Pierre Arcand, Minister

Clément Gignac, Minister

Alain Paquet, Minister

Kathleen Weil, Minister

Lawrence S. Bergman, MNA

Pascal Bérubé, MNA

Gerry Sklavounos, MNA



Mayor Gérald Tremblay

Mayor Michael Applebaum

Mayor Anthony Housefather

Mayor William Steinberg

Frantz Benjamin, Councillor

Dida Berku, Councillor

Harout Chitilian, Councillor

Susan Clark, Councillor

Mary Deros, Councillor

Bonnie Feigenbaum, Councillor

Michael Goldwax, Councillor

Peter McQueen, Councillor

Glenn J. Nashen, Councillor

Lionel Perez, Councillor